Interview with Jess of Foreign Room

Today I have a lovely interview with my very best blog buddy, Jess of

Foreign Room

. She was the first friend I met through blogging and she is seriously just the sweetest. We may live on opposite sides of the country (really we couldn't live any farther apart in the US) but we are still able to work together on

Blog Buddies Network

and be friends and we are hoping that someday we'll get to meet in real life. Jess is an amazing photographer, world traveler, and all around cool gal. Check out her interview below and then head on over to her blog and say "hi!"


Pretend you're meeting us for the first time and we know nothing about you. What should we know about you?

I'm a born & raised California girl that loves adventure and is passionate about life. Photography is one of my biggest loves, I own unhealthy amount of mason jars, and quality time spend with people is my love language. Coffee dates, puppy cuddles, and road trips are the best.

Describe yourself in three words.

Adventurous, creative, passionate

You live in the Bay Area of California but 


 to travel, do you see yourself living in the Bay Area forever or would like to move elsewhere at some point?

I would really love to experience living somewhere outside of California. I think it would be great to live in New York for a while, and maybe even somewhere abroad in Europe or Australia. Ultimately, though, I do see myself settling down to have a family one day either in the Bay Area or San Diego.

You were just in Seattle after the new year, do you have any other trips planned for the near future?

Actually, we don't really have anything planned right now! 2014 was a big travel year for us since we went to Japan, so I need to work on saving some money instead, but I always try to find a way to travel so we shall see :) For Christmas, we were given a two night stay at a winery a couple hours away to celebrate my 21st birthday, so that will be fun! We also have a voucher for a weekend at a hot spring resort in the mountains to use!

You've been in a lot of different US states and foreign countries, where would like to go that you haven't been yet?

There are so many places! I haven't been anywhere in Europe yet, so that is very high on my list, as well as Australia/New Zealand. Within the U.S., I would love to go to Hawaii sometime in the near future! It would also be great to visit Oregon, Utah, and more of the East Coast.

(Abby here: may I 


 Pennsylvania, friend? hehe)

What inspired you to begin blogging and what's the story behind your blog's name, Foreign Room?

I decided to start blogging when I graduated from high school in 2012 as a way to document the next chapter in my life and as a new creative outlet. In January 2013, I changed the name of my blog to Foreign Room since I felt that it was something I could grow with more than the old name. The name Foreign Room comes from the a song by one of my favorite bands. One line stuck out to me: "Across the globe a thousand times, but I never made it back, back to the foreign room. Now I lead a foreign life." I like how it suggests that we are always moving and changing, and that the past is in the past, but that we should also cherish the present because it will one day also be in the past. To me, the name Foreign Room encompasses all of that.

You share a lot of photos of your day to day life, what does your typical day look like from the time you wake up to when you go to sleep?

My days kind of vary depending on my class schedule, but generally I get up around 


 and get ready for school. I head to class from about 


 and then usually have a little break until I have to go to work. During my break, I have lunch, hang out with my pup, run errands, catch up on my favorite shows, or work on blogging related things! I then go to my job as a nanny, where I work from 

2:30-6:30pm m

ost weekdays. After work, I fight traffic home and have dinner. For the rest of the evening, I either spend time with Dai or do homework. If I'm lucky, I get to relax with a book or a TV show. I usually go to bed between 11 or 12 and that's my day! Somewhere in all that, I also run a blog :)

The two other "people" you show the most on your blog are your boyfriend Dai and your doggy Marly. Tell us a bit about them!

Dai is my boyfriend of three years that I met in a photography class. We were both just taking the class for fun and got to know each other. After the class ended, we started hanging out and the rest is history! We have a lot of fun together and are always laughing. Together we enjoy traveling, taking photos, cooking, exploring, and watching our favorite shows (we love How I Met Your Mother and Breaking Bad!). Marly is my 9-year-old Dachshund/Chihuahua mix pup that my dad and I rescued when I was in 6th grade. He enjoys going for car rides, napping, being the home guard dog, going for walks, playing with his favorite ball, and tagging alone for any adventure. He is my best little friend and will always be my baby!

Thanks Jess for taking the time to share a bit about yourself here on Little City Adventures. You can find Jess on her


, on








, and


'. Don't forget to check out

Blog Buddies Network

as well, the Facebook group she and I started for bloggers who want to support each and meet up in real life!